Living the Dream

on

I promise I’ll add more travel stories and other posts over the next weeks and months, but today I just want to focus on how grateful I am for this opportunity I’ve been given.

Without the distractions of work or school, I have been free to do whatever I want, and to really focus my thoughts and energy on my many projects that I regularly have to push aside.

People aren’t kidding when they say Europe is the greatest place to be inspired. Breathing a new air, sitting under a different sky; it ignites all kinds of sparks.

Today I decided to go on a walk, and find a wooden picnic table I’d noticed nestled in some trees. I was able to sit there and look at the huge stretch of pine trees across the road. The air was cold on my lungs, but good for my thoughts. I brought a notebook, and was able to sit and write, not worrying about what time it was or where I had to be.

I’ve been able to spend as much time as I want writing and brainstorming and studying. And it is wonderful. I can honestly say this trip is the best decision I’ve ever made.

My life right now is everything I have ever dreamed of, and I can see the Lord’s hand in all of it. It is comforting to know that I am exactly where He wants me to be, and that He wants me to pursue what I love.

I guess my message today is that there is no reason your dreams can’t become a reality. Sure it takes hard work, but if you really want something, make it happen.

I could be sitting in a classroom, taking notes about something that I will never actually need to know. But I knew I wanted something different, so now I’m sitting in Germany with a cup of hot chocolate in my hand.

Never throw away an opportunity, but make sure the things you’re doing are getting you closer to where, and to who, you want to be. Life here is short. Make it count.

image
A writers paradise.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. sally Lindquist says:

    Wise words. I’m so glad you have this opportunity to dream and be inspired. I’m sure Katie is loving it too.

    Love you,
    Grandma

    Like

Leave a Reply

