Finding Light: Entertainment Today

on

When the plane began to descend in London, I was struck by what I saw outside the window. Blankets of white spanned out indefinitely, and the sky was so bright. As we dipped into the clouds, our surroundings faded to gray, and grew darker and darker the lower we dropped. On the ground I found it hard to believe that so much light could be buried by something as innocent and inconstant as water vapor.

Some people would probably say it is unhealthy how much time I spend in front of the television. If I’m being honest I could probably cut back a little, but it’s not because I have nothing better to do. For me, a person who would like to break into the entertainment industry, it is research.

Over the past couple years I’ve spent studying film, I’ve been able to learn quite a bit. One thing I have noticed in particular is the way that film and television truly reflects the society of the era. Looking at what is on TV today, that can be a scary thought. It seems that every show is either filled with darkness or is empty and meaningless. But we do live in a world where people are confused; they walk out of their home in the mornings and are surrounded by that darkness. It is a real force they have to reckon with.

I personally have always been fascinated by the horror genre. I think it is because that form of storytelling can evoke such poignant emotion in an audience. To string people along in suspense, and then leave them feeling terrified. Hitchcock had it down to an art. It is here that I find techniques and elements, rarely used in other genres, that can be invaluable to a writer. Ones that can cause a reader to become vulnerable and open to different thoughts and ideas.

The frustrating thing about modern entertainment is that they aren’t taking advantage of that opportunity to share goodness. There are too many depressing story lines that don’t lead anywhere. At the same time, people don’t want sunshine thrown in their face. What they want is someone to make sense of the darkness. They are drawn to characters they can relate to, ones that are struggling and are facing seemingly impossible challenges.

That is an important starting point. As a writer I find it necessary to take that cue so that I can give people what they need. My goal is to be able to evolve the current trend to a point where these characters do discover hope. That doesn’t mean happy endings in the traditional sense, because I feel it is also important to be realistic. But I’d like to be able to open up my readers to the possibility of something more, of something greater. Because there really is so much light available to us if we can find a way to push past the clouds. To all my artists out there: now is the time to help other people find that light.

One of my goals for 2015 is to finish a novel I have been working on. More information will be coming in later months, so I hope you’ll all stick around to check it out. But for now, thanks for reading and I hope you have enjoyed sharing in some of my adventures.

Lots of love,

Kim

Leave a Reply

