Reading List: If You Feel Too Much

on

I just finished reading a book by Jamie Tworkowski called If You Feel Too Much. This is his first book, and it just came out this week.

I love it. I’ve read his stuff before and I love his message.

In case you are not familiar with him, Jamie is the founder of To Write Love On Her Arms. TWLOHA is a charity I discovered a few months ago, and has quickly become my favorite. It aims to provide help and hope to those suffering from depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide.

The part in the book that jumped out at me the most was when he put words to something I’ve had trouble articulating.

“Love is a choice as much as it is magic.”

Love is a choice.

Happiness isn’t a choice. Circumstance isn’t a choice. But love is a choice. And love makes all the difference.

We all long to be happy, but at least in my life, happiness can be fleeting. But I think in many ways, feeling love is better than feeling happy. More real. And there is a comfort that comes in knowing that you can always make that conscious decision to feel and show and share love.

If you have never heard of TWLOHA, then I encourage you to go and check it out.

And if you feel too much, then this book might be for you.

Leave a Reply

