Monday Morsel: Talents

on

“The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”
William Shakespeare

 

Everyone is talented. We have all been blessed with different gifts and strengths.

Sometimes we get too focused on what we’re doing wrong, we make ourselves feel like failures. But we are not failures. All of us have something to offer, oftentimes even more than we think.

What are your strengths?

Think about it. What are you good at? What do you enjoy and how can you use it to better yourself and others?

I came across this guy on YouTube last night. The MormonGuitar channel. This guy is amazing on the guitar. He took that talent and started to make arrangements of his kids favorite hymns and primary songs. He could have kept that all for himself, but instead he put the songs out on YouTube, and also filmed instructional videos, so that other people can learn to play his awesome arrangements. I’m not sure how long he has been up to this, but his name is Ben Howington and he has all these songs on an album on iTunes. This isn’t a plug, I’m not getting paid to mention this, I just honestly love this guys music. I bought the album without a second thought, listened to the whole thing immediately, and I can’t wait to burn a CD to put in my car. Because, don’t get me wrong, MoTab is great and all, but I’ve always had a special place in my heart for electric guitar.

Totally go check out his channel and the album. I know I’ll be visiting his site later to try and learn some tabs.

This is one example to me of the power of our talents.

I am able to benefit from and enjoy something wonderful, because some guy I’ve never met decided to share what he loves.

Don’t feel like sharing your strengths has to be online, it doesn’t. As much as I hope that people are reading what I write here and getting something out of it, it is kind of a shot in the dark. But I love writing and teaching and sharing and connecting with people about these topics. So I keep sharing. But I also know the power of a plate of homemade cookies, and have gladly given many away.

There are plenty of things I enjoy and can continue to work on. Many things I want to get better at. And that’s good. One thing this life is full of is time to learn and grow. And we’ll find that our strengths increase as we share them with others.

We all know that story in Matthew 25, about a man giving his servants talents (money in the story), and there was a guy who multiplied his talents, and a guy who buried his one coin in the ground. It is clear which one we want to be.

“For unto every one that hath shall be given, and he shall have abundance: but from him that hath not shall be taken away even that which he hath.” Matt. 25:29

You are powerful and you can make a difference.

So I ask you again, what are your strengths and how can you share them?

As always, I’d love to hear what you come up with. Have a lovely week!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Katie says:

    Hey, that my guitar! People may think my talent or “gift” is music, like singing and even acting. I do love me a stage. I think my real talent I have been blessed with is understanding and helping people through problems. Whether it’s good or bad.

    Like

    1. Kim says:

      It is your guitar! And you are definitely a positive influence when it comes to working things out:) ❤️

      Like

  2. Mom says:

    Katie, I agree you have a beautiful talent that allows you to help others by listening and giving good advice.

    Like

  3. Mom says:

    The older I get, the more strengths I discover and develop. Right now I am working on gardening. My desire to grow food that the family will actually eat is my motivation.

    Like

    1. Kim says:

      Can’t wait for the tomatoes and strawberries! ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

