Monday Morsel: Falling Apart

“I know this transformation is painful, but you’re not falling apart; you’re just falling into something different, with a new capacity to be beautiful.” William C. Hannan

I think we work too hard sometimes. We tell ourselves to be strong. There are too many things to be done, taken care of, there is no time to crack, we must carry on.

But what good does that do?

Sometimes, when life is especially stressful, I find myself trying to keep it together. For me that entails eating too much food and rewarding myself an episode of Doctor Who for every completed to-do list. And I can see myself doing this, and I don’t like it. But things are getting done. That’s all that matters, right?

I hope not. I hope we would recognize we can’t do it all. We were made to be broken, so we can build ourselves back up into something better. And we’ll have to repeat the process again, and again, and again. And we’ll never be strong enough to do it all. We just won’t. And that’s not to say we shouldn’t try, but it is important to accept the fact that we will break. And it is ok.

I dare you to shut the door for a moment. Let yourself fall apart. Violently if you have to. And leave the pieces scattered on the floor. Let yourself be broken, and vulnerable, and humble. Let all of it fall away.

Now. What is left?

 

Leave a Reply

