Monday Morsel: Art, Distractions, and Reality

“Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.” Pablo Picasso

When it comes to everyday life, art is always my distraction. Plugging in headphones, burying my nose in a book, or grabbing a pen while I take a step back and attempt to translate brainwaves into words.

We are going to look at some words today:

Distract (v.)- 

to draw away or divert, as the mind or attention.

I often feel there are two sides to my life. The world around me, where I scrub dishes and drive around in an oven with black seats and no A/C, and the world in my head where I write and pray and chill to my internal soundtrack. Both of these places distract from each other, but sometimes collide. For example here in this post, where I can record these ideas and share them with you, who reads and creates thoughts of your own before returning to the other side of life.

Reality (n.)-

something that exists independently of all other things and from which all other things derive.

Which side is reality?

I think many would say it’s the physical world, where you wake up, go to work, nod yes or no, pass other people on the street, then lay your head back on your pillow. Day in and day out, these things are constant. The earth keeps spinning and you do as you’ve always done. Such evidence must constitute the “real world”, right?

I don’t think so. Or at least, I don’t like to think so. Society has been built up by the mind of man. Government, social constructs, value systems; they all come down to beliefs, ideas. Things formed in the mind. Things that exist independently, and from which all else derives.

I think real life transcends a desk job. There is so much more, and yet we don’t always tap into it. All of eternity at our feet, and yet we sit making appointments for Wednesday at 10 o’clock. It seems silly to me, the way the world operates, when a single thought can shape a culture.

Money for example. It is only worth anything because we treat it that way. Who decided this chunk of metal is worth this many loaves of bread? I can see why, in a world where we can communicate across the globe, it is necessary to have some system of trade. But I will never understand why it became so important to slave away for hours on end, just to make more digits appear on a screen called a bank account.

I think reality comes down to learning, growing, experiencing. Becoming more. For now, we walk in a temporary mortal existence. But it’s not as if everything stops after we close our eyes. And on the other side, I doubt last weeks marketing reports are really going to matter. Still, we can’t all just shirk everything off and live as hobos (I mean, I guess we technically could, but it’s not going to happen.) Life here is real, what we do does have consequences.

I’m not entirely sure what my point is. Maybe just that I like distraction. I find myself contemplating the concept of reality quite often, and thought I’d try to explain a small portion of my musings on the subject.

(Goodness, this sounds a little Inception-y doesn’t it?)

What do you think? How do you look at reality? I’d like to know if I’m the only one who thinks about this. As always, thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

