Monday Morsel: Hold On Forever

General Conference this weekend was fantastic as usual. (If you missed it, click here.) There were so many wonderful talks, but one of the thoughts that stuck out to me was from our newest apostle, in his testimony:

“Something wonderful happens in a missionary’s service, when he or she realizes the calling isn’t about him or her. Rather, it’s about the Lord, His work, and Heavenly Fathers children.”
-Dale G. Renlund

As many of you readers are probably aware, I myself am preparing to serve a mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. And as any other missionary, I have come across plenty of advice.

One thing I keep getting told, especially from friends currently serving, is that missions are hard. The hardest thing I will ever do. Also, the best thing I will ever do, and so much more than worth it. But missions are hard work.

I guess some people fantasize and romanticize the idea of a mission. They grow up awaiting the day they can put on a name tag and hand out copies of the Book of Mormon and have two years of daisies and sunshine out serving the Lord. All of these people hit their reality check soon enough.

But I didn’t grow up knowing I would serve a mission. I grew up knowing God loves me, and everyone, and wanting to live in a way so I could help other people know that too. But it wasn’t until about a year ago, I seriously considered serving a full-time mission.

For those of you who don’t know what that means, it means for 18 months, I will leave home to some place in the world I get assigned, I will spend 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with another sister missionary, and every second of every day I will serve the people I come across and teach them about Jesus Christ and His love and plan for them. I’ll get to send emails home once a week, call twice a year. But other than that, my focus will be on the work and on the people I’m with.

I decided last year I want to go. And ever since I made the decision, I’ve known God has a work for me that will require a name tag. I love Elder Renlunds words, because it is truly not about me. It’s not about traveling, or learning a language, or gaining experience, or becoming a better person. It is none of those things. If I was living my life for myself, I’d probably be bumming it on a beach somewhere or nannying in Germany, and I probably wouldn’t be super happy. The only reason I’m going on a mission is because God loves His children, and some of His children don’t know that, and He needs me to go tell them.

One of my favorite songwriters is Rob Thomas. It’s been awhile since he was really popular, but he released a new album a few months ago. I don’t like all of it, but there are two songs on it I love.

“Hold On Forever” is meant to be a love song. It’s also very different from Robs usual style. But I imagine Christ saying the words, and I think it perfectly explains the Atonement.

Lyrics:
Another night and here we are again
All our faults laid out ahead
Let it out, then let it right back in
All those voices in your head
And we both know everything, but we can’t learn to leave
So I’ll tell you what you need
First thing, we make you feel better
Next stop, we pull it all together
I’ll keep you warm like a sweater
Take my hand, hold on forever
Just fall apart if you need to
I’m here and I won’t leave you now
Don’t look down
Hold on forever
Lay down all your troubles end to end
They could reach up to the stars
So many roads, you don’t know where you’ve been
But you still know who you are
And if I seem preoccupied, I’m wondering what to do
So here’s my recipe for you
First thing, we make you feel better
Next stop, we pull it all together
I’ll keep you warm like a sweater
Take my hand, hold on forever
Just fall apart if you need to
I’m here and I won’t leave you now
Don’t look down
Hold on forever

I don’t have a ton to offer people. But if I can show them where Christ’s hand is, then that is all they’ll ever need. That’s why I’m going on a mission.
Bonus:
Here is the other song I really liked- it speaks for itself:

(Sorry for ripping off your Musical Monday Syd… I’m linking your blog here so anyone who reads this far can check it out!)

Leave a Reply

